What Made Me Wanted to be A Developer

What Made Me Wanted to be A Developer

ยท

4 min read

When I was in high school and figuring out a career path for me and surfing the Internet that was when I got to know about the term Software Engineer. At this point in life, I didn't know that a simple article will change my life forever.

When the spark Ignited

From my childhood, I was one of the curious kids in the class who loves to learn but at my own pace and in my own domain. This curiosity leads me to my passion which is to create something I have made many small cardboard projects but whenever the target is to create something with an Arduino, I was like dealing with wires and solder are good to work with but what is this non-understanding line of some unimaginable language. That's when I introduced myself to a language called C++ and another realm called coding.

At that time seeing a code haunts me from doing something I mostly avoid or finding myself a loophole to get through it. Then a teacher of mine showed me the possibilities of what I can do with this word called coding. He told me

"You can make websites You can make apps, games and literally everything which you can see on a screen".

Then I decided to deal with it and this is what I call the breakpoint of my life. Fast-forward three years and I can literally code anything and everything if I didn't know which I mostly don't I can learn it from you guys.

Approach I have followed

Currently, I have completed the first year of my college and I can say one thing, in this past year I haven't learned much coding but what I learned is the concept called Problem solving.

This problem-solving approach is what that helped me to code and wanted me to become a developer from writing the "Hello World" piece of code to contributing to open source or using Linux or dealing with javascript all these points were a Problem which as always I wanted to deal alone and myself. But I was wrong one thing I learnt is that coding is not what you can do alone. It is an effort of the community to make things better for each and everyone, to help themselves by helping others. Whenever I ask for a solution to my problem there is always someone to help me with this inclusiveness of a community that wanted me to become a developer.

Although it's best to solve a problem yourself this will let you learn a lot of things while doing debugging but not sharing your projects, views and what you are working on is what truly alone means. See, In my POV learning phase is the most problematic and appreciation-less phase of a developer but Including this phase with some hackathons, Competitions and communities is what gets you going.

Tips I can share

90% of you who are reading this are more experienced than me but everyone has their learning path and motivations so I can share tips which helped me a lot.

  • Share your learnings

    The biggest example of sharing the learning is what hashnode is. This is where people learn a lot and share their learning. This will not just give you a personal brand but also helps you to learn a concept better than any other way because when you teach someone a concept this is when you help yourself in learning.

  • Do Contribute to others

    As I have already said coding is all about contribution the best example is what Github is based on learning while doing gives you a better understanding of a concept.

  • And Most importantly have fun while learning ๐Ÿ˜Š.

With that said see you next time and do follow me on Twitter and you can see what I am working on at Github.

This is my #week1 article for #4articles4weeks Writeathon.

ย